The death of one (1) male Halawa Correctional Facility inmate, between 60 to 70 years old, is being classified by the Hawaii Department of Health as a COVID-19 related death. The death occurred in early February. No additional information is being provided to protect individual medical privacy. Halawa currently remains clear of active positive inmate cases.

For more information on PSD’s planning and response to COVID-19, inmate testing data, and information detailing the efforts made to safeguard the inmates, staff and public, visit our webpage at:

U.S. Senator Brian Schatz (D-Hawai‘i) announced today the names of 46 students nominated to attend one of our nation’s service academies. The four service academies are: the United States Air Force Academy, the United States Military Academy, the United States Naval Academy and the United States Merchant Marine Academy.

“The students who attend our country’s service academies represent our nation’s best,” said Senator Schatz. “I look forward to seeing these young men and women grow into the next generation of military leaders.”

Applicants were considered based on their ability to successfully meet the rigorous demands for the undergraduate education and training of officers of the United States Armed Forces, as well as their demonstrated leadership skills through athletics and other organizations, and an overall commitment to the military, the community and our country. Nominees will now be considered for appointment by the U.S. Service Academies.

The following nominees were named for consideration into our nation’s service academies:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Jared Barrett, Holualoa, Hawai‘i Preparatory Academy (Hawai‘i Island)*

Karl Hanson, Hilo, Kamehameha Schools Hawai‘i (Hawai‘i Island)

Alexis Huntimer, Honolulu, Iolani School

Riku Iwai-King, Honolulu, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Adam Kwock, Honolulu, Punahou School

Maxwell Lee, Honolulu, Punahou School/San Diego State University

Brandon Pang, Kailua, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama/University of Hawai‘i Manoa

Micah Park, Honolulu, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Nanealani Satterfield, Honolulu, Punahou School

David Torres, Kailua, Iolani School

U.S. Military Academy (West Point)

Jamahl Adams, Lanai City, Lanai High School/United States Military Academy Prep School (Lanai)

Ashli Alcala-Romero, Honolulu, Maryknoll High School*

Luke Cheung, Honolulu, Homeschool

Cara Cunningham, Honolulu, Punahou School/Columbia University

Ryu Kawajiri, Honolulu, Punahou School

David Kondo, Honolulu, Iolani School

Jordan Lau, Honolulu, Punahou School

Brennan Lee, Honolulu, Homeschool

David Lee, Honolulu, Iolani School

Jonah Lee, Honolulu, Radford High School

Madigan McConnell, Haleiwa, Kahuku High School

Curtis Meares, Honolulu, Kalani High School

Casimir Paras, Wahiawa, Leilehua High School

Emery Ramirez, Honokaa, Homeschool (Hawai‘i Island)

Sonny Koa Rosales, Ewa Beach, Kapolei High School

Jack Schwab, Honolulu, Moanalua High School

Johanna Seng, Honolulu, Hawai‘i Baptist Academy*

Tyler Sheindlin, Honolulu, McKinley High School

Andrew Somerville, Kailua, Iolani School

Grace Todd, Kapaau, Kohala High School (Hawai‘i Island)

U.S. Naval Academy

Julian Armstrong, Lahaina, Lahainaluna High School (Maui)

Andrew Agustin, Honolulu, Punahou School

Luke de la Pena, Kalaheo, Waimea High School (Kauai)

Warner Hoshide, Los Angeles, Brentwood School (CA)

Michael Jagdon, Honolulu, Punahou School

Kali'inoa Maeva, Honolulu, Punahou School

Caleb McCrillis, Kailua, Kalaheo High School

Luke Phillips, Honolulu, Punahou School

Lillian Piedad, Honolulu, Mid-Pacific Institute

Philip Sing, Honolulu, Punahou School*

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Finn Bediamol, Haiku, King Kekaulike High School (Maui)*

Victoria Brown, Burke, Lake Braddock Second School (VA)

Peter Herrington, Ewa Beach, Homeschool

Grant Austin Juan, Honolulu, McKinley High School

Aaron Maguire, Mililani, Mililani High School

Philip Sing, Honolulu, Punahou School

*Principal Nominee

Senator Jarrett Keohokalole (Senate District 24 - Kāne‘ohe, MCBH, Kailua, He‘eia and ‘Āhuimanu) and Representative Linda Ichiyama (House District 32 - Moanalua Valley, Salt Lake, ʻĀliamanu) will be hosting a COVID-19 Talk Story with Department of Health (DOH) Director Libby Char to discuss the coronavirus vaccination schedule, the new Johnson & Johnson vaccine and the State’s reopening strategy.

WHAT: COVID-19 Talk Story

WHO: Senator Jarrett Keohokalole

Representative Linda Ichiyama

DOH Director Libby Char

WHEN: Monday, February 22, 2021

TIME: 10:00 a.m.

WHERE: Event will be livestreamed on the Hawaiʻi State Senate Facebook page (

For more information, please contact Jacob Aki at















Hawaiʻi State Legislature

Hawaiʻi State Senate

Legislative Reference Bureau

Governor's Office

Hawaiʻi State Judiciary

Phone: 808-586-6720

Hawaiʻi State Capitol

415 South Beretania Street

Honolulu, HI 96813

©2021 by Hawai'i State Senate